FAWKHAM PARISH CHAIRS AND CLERKS

Sir Thomas Beaumont Hohler was elected the first Chairman of the Council, at the inaugural meeting on 11th March 1935. He remained Chair until he passed away in 1946.

Mr Oscar Preuss April 1946 - May 1949

Mr W Berry May 1949 - May 1952

Rev Alfred C Ford May 1952 - May 1958

Mr R Houlding May 1958 - January 1960

Rev A C Ford January 1960-May 1960

Mr J Barker May 1960- 1962

Mr Reginald Houlding May 1962 - May 1968

Mr Tom McKitterick May 1968 - May 1975

Mr William A Hawkins May 1977 - May 1978

Mr Douglas McDonald May 1978 - May 1979

Mr Chris W Hollands May 1978 - 1982

Mr John E Meyrick May 1982 - May 1985

Mr Richard Crouch May 1985-December 1985 (due to business commitments)

Mr Chris W Hollands December 1985- May 1992

Mr Stephen Paddock May 1992 - May 1995

Mr Chris W Hollands May 1995 - September 1998 (retired after 25 years service on the Council)

Mr Graham Brewis September 1998 - June 1999

Mrs Jean Allen [Acting] June 1999 - December 1999

Mrs Lyn Pilcher January 2000 - May 2002

Mrs Faye Parkin May 2002 - May 2003

Mrs Lyn Pilcher May 2003 - July 2003

Mrs Faye Parkin July 2003 - 2005

Mr Lawrence Moss May 2005 - May 2015

Mrs Faye Parkin May 2015 - May 2017

Mr Mike Pearsall May 2017 - May 2019

Mrs Laura Evans May 2019 -

Clerks

Fawkham has had some long serving Clerks over the years:

Mr A C Williams, was the first Clerk, appointed in April 1935 at a salary of £3 per annum. He remained as Clerk until October 1939, when he moved away.

Miss Eileen Bignold is the longest serving Clerk: she was appointed in March 1940 and remained until May 1973 - a total of 33 years. In 1959 the Clerk's salary was raised to £15, and to £20 in 1966. Miss Bignold founded and was Headteacher at Steephill School. After her death in 1989, silver birch trees were planted in her memory in the churchyard close to the pond.

Mrs Linda Lewis-Ranwell June1973 - April 1978. Appointed at a salary of £130.

Mrs MJ Hobbs April 1978 - October 1979

Mrs Sheena Moss October 1979 -1987. Sheena is the third longest serving Clerk, and still lives in the village.

Mrs S M Oakes January 1988 - March 1989, when she moved away.

Linda Parlett April 1989 - 2012. Linda was clerk for 23 years, making her the second longest-serving, before taking well-earned retirement.

Glenn Back January 2013 - February 2017

Lynda Harrison March 2017 - November 2019

Laura Marchant January 2020 -